Honoree Archive: 2011 Honorees

Reception Highlights 

Four individuals, one organization, and two students were honored at the 10th annual Citizens That Care Recognition Reception of the Abington Community Taskforce (ACT), held April 28 at North Hills Country Club.  The three Citizens That Care honorees, Katie Gorbey, Debra Laub Jack, and Mark Penecale, and the Abington Y Achievers organization were honored for the many ways in which they have worked with young people, often volunteering many tireless hours,  to promote meaningful programs and service for children and teens in the Abington-Rockledge community.

The third ever Community Builder Award was presented to Abington Chief of Police Bill Kelly for his vision and leadership in this community, especially in the area of youth programs.  Two Abington Senior High School graduating seniors were presented with $500 Julia Greenbaum Memorial ACT Student Community Service awards for their noteworthy community service work. These awards are funded by the Rydal-Meadowbrook Civic Association in cooperation with ACT.

2011 Honorees:  (Links to biographies and photos will be provided shortly.)

  • Abington Y Achievers
  • Katie Gorbey
  • Debra Laub Jack
  • Mark Penecale

Community Builder

  • Abington Chief of Police Bill Kelly

Student Awards:

  • Esther Katro
  • Taylor Appel